Benvenuto Visitatore(Log In|Registrati)

13 Pagine V  « < 11 12 13  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [PC-DOS] HEROQUEST by Gremlin, Traduzione ITA/ESP devlog
TheRuler
messaggio18 Oct 2023, 00:20
Messaggio #301



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: SMod
Messaggi: 11.970
Iscritto il: 20 January 06
Da: Bologna
Utente Nr.: 2.653
Entropologo part-time

BGE AG: Indy3
Arcade: Silpheed
Free Roaming: Shadow of the Colossus
RTS: Praetorians

Playing Magari...
SO Windows7

OGI Supporter




CITAZIONE (TheRuler @ 14 Oct 2023, 00:15) *
If I use the fake encoder it produces a larger file (67KB) and this is the result:
File Allegato  quest_029.png ( 16.07k ) Numero di download: 0


While having fun with dosbox debugger I've come up with an hypothesis on why the zombie sprite is messed up if I edit the heads.
large uncompressed graphic files are dinamically loaded into memory when requested, after use the memory is flushed and reused by other larg files.
MONSTERS.VGA is loaded first, then MAPS.VGA. They're contiguous in memory and MAPS slightly overlaps into MONSTERS' previously assigned memory area.

the zombie is the first of the file.
File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_10_18_005345.png ( 23.42k ) Numero di download: 2


What I have to understand is where and how the game set's the sizes. I suspect the compressed file should have some sort of uncompressed size written in it but I cannot find it.
Maybe the reason why the encoder of Shelwien does not create a compatible file is that the game expects some file information in one specific position in the file, and shelwien doesn't write that where the game expects it.


--------------------
 
TheRuler
messaggio18 Oct 2023, 23:56
Messaggio #302



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: SMod
Messaggi: 11.970
Iscritto il: 20 January 06
Da: Bologna
Utente Nr.: 2.653
Entropologo part-time

BGE AG: Indy3
Arcade: Silpheed
Free Roaming: Shadow of the Colossus
RTS: Praetorians

Playing Magari...
SO Windows7

OGI Supporter




Nuovo contenuto recuperato!
Nella missione "corsa contro il tempo", arrivati ad una stanza con 2 casse puoi cercare tesori. Ti carichi una cassa in spalla ma solo una a testa.
Se cerchi tesori nuovamente non compare alcun testo.
Ora sì:
File Allegato  quest_044.png ( 31.83k ) Numero di download: 0


Un'altra piccola conquista di una sfida che mi ha spinto a studiare il debugger di dosbox e la mappatura della ram. Interessantissimo!
Soprattutto quando capisci (tipo l'1%) come funziona assembly!
Ore di studio e test per arrivare alla fine a cambiare 2 byte. DUE BYTE di un indirizzo di un jump.

File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_10_19_003746.png ( 21.28k ) Numero di download: 5

B2A9 --> D3FE

sotto con un altro bug da fixare. E andiamo.

Se qualcuno fosse interessato a capire come funziona il debugger di dosbox a me sono bastati (nei limiti di quello che mi serviva) questi due link:
https://zwomp.com/posts/2020/understanding-...x-debug-screen/
https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=3944


--------------------
 
TheRuler
messaggio19 Oct 2023, 23:24
Messaggio #303



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: SMod
Messaggi: 11.970
Iscritto il: 20 January 06
Da: Bologna
Utente Nr.: 2.653
Entropologo part-time

BGE AG: Indy3
Arcade: Silpheed
Free Roaming: Shadow of the Colossus
RTS: Praetorians

Playing Magari...
SO Windows7

OGI Supporter




While comparing the memory dumps, searching for changes to understand why the "compression glitch" occurs, I've discovered a nice thing.
The area that we cover because of that size set larger-than-necessary into QUESTxx.BIN files have some code.

See that bunch of bytes on the left panel that starts with "shields.ega"?
File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_10_19_235615.png ( 151.33k ) Numero di download: 8

Left panel: original quest01.bin - Right panel: modified quest01.bin

Upon loading a quest, the game overwrites that area with whatever have available to fill at that moment (don't know why or what, there are stuff from two separate files and leaves a gap also), but then writes those 00 FF FF FF FF right before "shields.ega" and 00 00 00 00 at the end of thoe code. STRANGE nonetheless... investigated further.
It turned out that THAT is indeed one of the functions in charge of the randomization of the events.
There is a code in another part that takes the result of this function and writes to a specific portion of memory a sequence from 00 to 18
here you can see on the left the sequence with the trick discovered by raul and on the right the one without that trick + crack.
File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_10_19_211517.png ( 21.7k ) Numero di download: 3


The "shield.ega" code is there since the the start of the game and become overwritten only once you load a quest.
Why without our trick the sequence is always the same? it's BECAUSE OF THE CRACK!
It completely bypasses the jump to that "shields.ega" part that sets a value that I assume is a sort of seed. If the code is bypassed the game reads a default value 00 that should be the fixed sequence. I THINK they tied the ID of the given random shield to the sequences. If that is confirmed it would be a fine move against the crackers!
Funny thing is the crack can be found on the CD version! they basically broke their own game!


This is how they originally intended the pseudo-randomization (top left at offset 0xFCEB beginning with 11 you can see all the numbers between 00 and 18 randomized. FF is the ending code and probably the code that loops back):
File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_10_19_234819.png ( 4.38k ) Numero di download: 2

Sometimes the fixed sequence still occurs, it seems it picks the default value.
What we've discussed previously stays: there are more sequences, one with wandering mosnter, one with coins, one with potions and one with traps. They get arranged randomly in blocks. And separately inside those blocks.
EDIT: And sometimes you get the perfect randomization:
File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_10_20_235231.png ( 3.26k ) Numero di download: 1


EDIT2: Found out that they did use the fixed event list 00 to 18 on pourpose if the hero has no equipment. May be that's the use for those UNKNOWN first 6 bytes in QUEST.SAV! If those are all zeroes the hero is fresh new so the game shoul go easy on him (first gold, then potions then traps eccc), a way to let them "farm" I think.


So no need to overwrite random things in memory anymore, mystery solved!



fun fact browsing the memory dump:
File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_10_19_181001.png ( 80.04k ) Numero di download: 3

File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_10_19_181021.png ( 55.74k ) Numero di download: 5


Also, Nyerguds, 2BC is the memory location of the functions to exit to dos.
File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_10_19_234215.png ( 35.98k ) Numero di download: 4


--------------------
 
Nyerguds
messaggio24 Oct 2023, 23:23
Messaggio #304



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: OldGamer
Messaggi: 303
Iscritto il: 27 June 14
Utente Nr.: 20.463
BGE Command & Conquer: Tiberian Dawn
SO Windows7




Wow, you're really mapping this game out blush.gif


--------------------

Command & Conquer Gold v1.06 - Upgrading C&C95, byte by byte...
 
TheRuler
messaggio26 Oct 2023, 21:42
Messaggio #305



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: SMod
Messaggi: 11.970
Iscritto il: 20 January 06
Da: Bologna
Utente Nr.: 2.653
Entropologo part-time

BGE AG: Indy3
Arcade: Silpheed
Free Roaming: Shadow of the Colossus
RTS: Praetorians

Playing Magari...
SO Windows7

OGI Supporter




CITAZIONE (Nyerguds @ 25 Oct 2023, 00:23) *
Wow, you're really mapping this game out blush.gif

Among a tidy up and a feng shui in quest11:

File Allegato  quest_009.png ( 18.86k ) Numero di download: 0


before/after
File Allegato  quest_007.png ( 34.68k ) Numero di download: 0
File Allegato  quest_012.png ( 33.52k ) Numero di download: 0



before/after
File Allegato  quest_010.png ( 33.05k ) Numero di download: 0
File Allegato  quest_013.png ( 31.62k ) Numero di download: 0



CITAZIONE
Quest11 (bastion of chaos)
0x0519: 09 --> 0A
0x059D: 0B0E --> 090D
0x05CA: 140B --> 110A





--------------------
 
TheRuler
messaggio1 Nov 2023, 12:11
Messaggio #306



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: SMod
Messaggi: 11.970
Iscritto il: 20 January 06
Da: Bologna
Utente Nr.: 2.653
Entropologo part-time

BGE AG: Indy3
Arcade: Silpheed
Free Roaming: Shadow of the Colossus
RTS: Praetorians

Playing Magari...
SO Windows7

OGI Supporter




CITAZIONE (TheRuler @ 13 Oct 2023, 23:15) *
Dang. The file MAPS.VGA where heads I've just changed are stored behaves perfectly but in one case.
In quest07, I've found two monsters "invisible" (one is Karlen, easy to reach, just cast "pass through rock" in the starting room on you and go left).
Even if I decode the original one and encode (v2) it back (14KB instead os 13KB) without editing anything it produces the glitch anyways. The monsters are in SPRITES.VGA, not in MAPS.VGA!
If I use the fake encoder it produces a larger file (67KB) and this is the result:
[attachment=10025:quest_029.png]
Changing the memory space occupied by the questxx.bin doesn't produce any benefit but I think It's a memory allocation issue. We overwrite something.
I've also tried trimming down to the original size of the file encoded with v2. No change.
The strange thing is that with v2 encoder the monster is invisible but when he attacks become visible for a couple of frames. Nyerguds, could it be related to the lack of RLE?
Damn, the encoding corrects the animation issue in the intro but breaks this.

EDIT:
I tried to encode other files, here how it behaves with SPRITES.VGA:
[attachment=10026:quest_030.png]
I am a bit ashamed but asked the author. Hope he will came up with a solution or at least a workaround.


Shelwien finally come up with a solution, adding RLE to his encoder.
It works! it friggin' works!



Files allegati
File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_11_01_112030.png ( 129.97k ) Numero di download: 4
 


--------------------
 
raul
messaggio1 Nov 2023, 12:39
Messaggio #307





Gruppo: Gamer
Messaggi: 125
Iscritto il: 15 September 17
Da: España
Utente Nr.: 21.627
SO Sono un BOT, cancellami l'account




wowwwwwwwwwwwww
Questo ragazzo è una vera meraviglia.
 
TheRuler
messaggio1 Nov 2023, 23:23
Messaggio #308



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: SMod
Messaggi: 11.970
Iscritto il: 20 January 06
Da: Bologna
Utente Nr.: 2.653
Entropologo part-time

BGE AG: Indy3
Arcade: Silpheed
Free Roaming: Shadow of the Colossus
RTS: Praetorians

Playing Magari...
SO Windows7

OGI Supporter




Il gioco ha molti di questi Pixel fuori posto.
Ho colto l'occasione per togliere il trucco al mago, dargli una sistemata ai capelli e donargli uno sguardo meno spento (ora hai proprio la sensazione che ti guardi dall'alto).

File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_11_01_230651.png ( 9.35k ) Numero di download: 0
File Allegato  Screenshot_2023_11_01_231152.png ( 13.2k ) Numero di download: 0

PRIMA - DOPO



Praticamente l'ho portato dall'estetista. ghgh.gif


--------------------
 
Nyerguds
messaggio3 Nov 2023, 08:55
Messaggio #309



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: OldGamer
Messaggi: 303
Iscritto il: 27 June 14
Utente Nr.: 20.463
BGE Command & Conquer: Tiberian Dawn
SO Windows7




Yes, the fade above his head definitely looked weird. No idea why thy thought that was a good idea.

I always wondered if this was the bad guy or the good guy. I found this video about it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jSexThIpOY

So apparently, officially, it's Mentor... the good wizard. huh. Weird.

Messaggio modificato da Nyerguds il 3 Nov 2023, 09:01


--------------------

Command & Conquer Gold v1.06 - Upgrading C&C95, byte by byte...
 
TheRuler
messaggio3 Nov 2023, 09:10
Messaggio #310



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: SMod
Messaggi: 11.970
Iscritto il: 20 January 06
Da: Bologna
Utente Nr.: 2.653
Entropologo part-time

BGE AG: Indy3
Arcade: Silpheed
Free Roaming: Shadow of the Colossus
RTS: Praetorians

Playing Magari...
SO Windows7

OGI Supporter




CITAZIONE (Nyerguds @ 3 Nov 2023, 08:55) *
So apparently, officially, it's Mentor... the good wizard. huh. Weird.

What? Always thought that was the opposite.
File Allegato  bd5f4dd48d301986fd8bff718ab486bc.jpg ( 63.46k ) Numero di download: 5

Why on earth they depicted your Master about to send all his monsters against you?


reading the comments there is another interesting theory, Morcar/Zargon is Mentor. He plays both roles.


--------------------
 
TheRuler
messaggio3 Nov 2023, 09:43
Messaggio #311



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: SMod
Messaggi: 11.970
Iscritto il: 20 January 06
Da: Bologna
Utente Nr.: 2.653
Entropologo part-time

BGE AG: Indy3
Arcade: Silpheed
Free Roaming: Shadow of the Colossus
RTS: Praetorians

Playing Magari...
SO Windows7

OGI Supporter




I am on my way to modify the graphic of the map (that, suprisingly, it would be playable as a top down view!) because the original is a mess, very unclear.
To enhance it is necessary to higlight the doors, shift some tiles and change the wrong look of the stairs the walls or the floor tiles of the top right room for example.
File Allegato  quest_015.png ( 18.8k ) Numero di download: 0
File Allegato  quest_019.png ( 18.69k ) Numero di download: 0

they strangely decided to use different doors of the same type (topdown L shaped, see in the right image the door of the room the barbarian is in).
In this first iteration (on the right) I've changed only the first type (horizontal and vertical) doors.


File Allegato  quest_017.png ( 34.89k ) Numero di download: 0
File Allegato  quest_018.png ( 33.5k ) Numero di download: 0

And I need to verify this but I think it is possible to trim the position and size of the furnitures to match the actual space they occupy on the map.



File Allegato  quest_020.png ( 33.27k ) Numero di download: 0
File Allegato  quest_021.png ( 18.05k ) Numero di download: 0


File Allegato  quest_022.png ( 34.21k ) Numero di download: 0
File Allegato  quest_023.png ( 20k ) Numero di download: 0

It seems they created some forniture to match a 2x1 layout rather than 3x2. That's pretty odd and funny.

But unfortunately it is a difficult process to do by hands, I think I have to wait for the mythic Engie to implement this game. ;-)


--------------------
 
Nyerguds
messaggio3 Nov 2023, 10:23
Messaggio #312



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: OldGamer
Messaggi: 303
Iscritto il: 27 June 14
Utente Nr.: 20.463
BGE Command & Conquer: Tiberian Dawn
SO Windows7




QUOTE (TheRuler @ 3 Nov 2023, 09:10) *
QUOTE (Nyerguds @ 3 Nov 2023, 08:55) *
So apparently, officially, it's Mentor... the good wizard. huh. Weird.

What? Always thought that was the opposite.

Why on earth they depicted your Master about to send all his monsters against you?

Exactly; it's a pretty odd case. But they asked the creators, and you can't argue with "Word of God" fragend013.gif

QUOTE (TheRuler @ 3 Nov 2023, 09:43) *
But unfortunately it is a difficult process to do by hands, I think I have to wait for the mythic Engie to implement this game. ;-)

It might take some time... I have a lot of work to do these days :-\

But, now we got the final compression algorithm, at least!

Messaggio modificato da Nyerguds il 3 Nov 2023, 10:26


--------------------

Command & Conquer Gold v1.06 - Upgrading C&C95, byte by byte...
 
TheRuler
messaggio3 Nov 2023, 10:56
Messaggio #313



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: SMod
Messaggi: 11.970
Iscritto il: 20 January 06
Da: Bologna
Utente Nr.: 2.653
Entropologo part-time

BGE AG: Indy3
Arcade: Silpheed
Free Roaming: Shadow of the Colossus
RTS: Praetorians

Playing Magari...
SO Windows7

OGI Supporter




CITAZIONE (Nyerguds @ 3 Nov 2023, 10:23) *
It might take some time... I have a lot of work to do these days :-\

But, now we got the final compression algorithm, at least!

Yeah didn't mean to rush you. There's absolutely no hurry, we've waited for over thirty years! ghgh.gif

Now that I dug into the vga files and "understood" the content I ask you how do you make a tool recognize all the different images inside them?
The offsets are inside QUEST.exe but I am wondering if you can pull them out from the VGA themselves since they contain a series of images one following the other without brake symbols of sorts.
The problem in MAPS.VGA for example is that it starts with a 256x256 image, then a bunch of 8x8 and lastly a 24x24 image.
I know you have already encountered and solved this "problem" many times like in C&C, Kort etcetera, I am curious to know your approach on this.


--------------------
 
TheRuler
messaggio4 Nov 2023, 11:11
Messaggio #314



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: SMod
Messaggi: 11.970
Iscritto il: 20 January 06
Da: Bologna
Utente Nr.: 2.653
Entropologo part-time

BGE AG: Indy3
Arcade: Silpheed
Free Roaming: Shadow of the Colossus
RTS: Praetorians

Playing Magari...
SO Windows7

OGI Supporter




Just wondering if it was possible to fix the fact that the monsters cannot attack you if they stand on a connected tile in an adjacent room (but you can).
It "should" be simple but I discovered it is a bit tricky to solve. Maybe they ditched the mechanic due to lack of time.

Anyway if you trick the engine by changing the quest's map like this you get attacked by the monster:
File Allegato  quest_024.png ( 34.97k ) Numero di download: 0
File Allegato  quest_025.png ( 34.47k ) Numero di download: 0


The problem is we cannot us this approach cause we cannot modify the maps to suit the monster position (we can actually do the opposite, but this would fall out of scope), and there is no collision detect between doors and monsters (they never implemented because monsters cannot interact with door by rule), the zombie simply walked to me passing the closed door.
Also the double door is a problem but actually no, cause this won't be the method I mean to use. Although it is possible to mod the map for a modded layout, maybe for special quests.

File Allegato  quest_026.png ( 34.11k ) Numero di download: 0

This betters explain how the arrows code works.


--------------------
 
raul
messaggio4 Nov 2023, 11:18
Messaggio #315





Gruppo: Gamer
Messaggi: 125
Iscritto il: 15 September 17
Da: España
Utente Nr.: 21.627
SO Sono un BOT, cancellami l'account




Non ho dubbi che questo gioco sia stato realizzato in fretta e furia.
Credo che uno dei problemi maggiori sia stato quello di averlo rilasciato su molte piattaforme contemporaneamente e le limitazioni di alcune di esse hanno trascinato in basso le altre versioni.
 
TheRuler
messaggio4 Nov 2023, 11:19
Messaggio #316



Gruppo icone

Gruppo: SMod
Messaggi: 11.970
Iscritto il: 20 January 06
Da: Bologna
Utente Nr.: 2.653
Entropologo part-time

BGE AG: Indy3
Arcade: Silpheed
Free Roaming: Shadow of the Colossus
RTS: Praetorians

Playing Magari...
SO Windows7

OGI Supporter




CITAZIONE (raul @ 4 Nov 2023, 11:18) *
Non ho dubbi che questo gioco sia stato realizzato in fretta e furia.
Credo che uno dei problemi maggiori sia stato quello di averlo rilasciato su molte piattaforme contemporaneamente e le limitazioni di alcune di esse hanno trascinato in basso le altre versioni.

Sì, molto probabile. E' complice il fatto che sia uscito per primo su PC, già la versione Amiga è più curata nelle meccaniche e nella grafica, pur avendo meno colori.


EDIT:
Anche su amiga si comportano uguale i mostri in stanze adiacenti.
https://youtu.be/tBr2IYiPWlM?t=6300
Forse la soluzione più elegante potrebbe essere spostare i mostri.


--------------------
 

13 Pagine V  « < 11 12 13
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 utenti stanno leggendo questa discussione (1 visitatori e 0 utenti anonimi)
0 utenti:

 

Modalità di visualizzazione: Normale · Passa a: Lineare · Passa a: Outline


Versione Lo-Fi Oggi è il: 10th December 2023 - 11:23